2019 One Africa Award (Win Us$100,000) Deadline – January 31, 2020

The McGraw Fellowship 2020 for Business Journalism Deadline – February 1, 2020
December 13, 2019
Vienna Biocenter Summer School 2020 In Austria Deadline – December 31, 2020
December 20, 2019

The 2019 ONE Africa Award will recognize Africa-driven and Africa-led advocacy efforts that have demonstrated success at the community, national or regional level. The award recognizes, rewards and advances the exceptional work of organizations founded by Africans and based in Africa, dedicated to advancing development goals in Africa. The US$100,000 award will recognize innovative African initiatives to fight extreme poverty and incentivize more of such efforts.

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) were adopted in 2015 as a global compact between nations to improve the lives of the world’s poorest. They serve as a global blueprint to a better future, with goals of halving extreme poverty, halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, amongst others.

There has been significant progress to end extreme poverty and preventable disease throughout Africa. Individuals and organizations are employing innovative ideas and exciting approaches to transform lives across the continent. The ONE Africa Award celebrates these efforts and progress towards the SDGs. ONE applauds the progress made and looks forward to solutions for the challenges still ahead.

The award recognizes exceptional organizations and other groups demonstrating commitment and success in assisting Africans in meeting one or more of the SDGs through innovative advocacy-based programs.

Qualified recipients may be engaged in direct services to achieve any of the SDGs, but must demonstrate a strong advocacy component integral to the delivery and success of their programs. Qualified recipients may be advocacy/pressure groups and think tanks engaged in governance activities, such as the monitoring of flows of resources and/or holding governments accountable to commitments to SDG attainment.

Organizations will be graded in five categories and will be awarded between 1-10 points in each of these categories:

  • The extent to which the organization has designed and implemented an innovative advocacy program that employs entrepreneurial and sustainable approaches to impact in a given sector(s).
  • Ability to demonstrate and communicate specific indicators of progress and impact linking work to a given sector(s) in a clear results-oriented framework.
  • Demonstration of the ability to replicate efforts of the organization to scale interventions.
  • Demonstration of strong internal and constituency accountability mechanisms (for example, community leadership consultations and involvement in programs to demonstrate that interventions are relevant to the majority of the poor in the target community and empower them in a sustainable way) along with the transparency of operations.
  • The extent to which the organization has employed creative partnerships to achieve its goal(s) and ensure coordination with other development actors. These partnerships may include public and/or private sector players.

Shortlisted applications will undergo a due diligence process.

Location: Africa


  • The US$100,000 award will recognize innovative African initiatives to fight extreme poverty and incentivize more of such efforts.


  • Civil society organizations, non-governmental organizations and other groups based in Africa that has demonstrated commitment and success in advocacy to promote the attainment of one or more of the SDGs are invited to apply.

Eligible Regions: Africa


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *